Minucciano has ancient origins, having been inhabited since the Bronze Age, which is attested by archaeological finds. Its name comes from the Roman consul Quitus Minucius, who was in charge of defending the border from barbarians. In the Early Middle Ages, the village became a fief under the Malaspina family, who ruled it until the 11th century, when the village became part of the Principality of Lucca, reaching its maximum splendour. Due to its strategic position, Minucciano was long disputed between Pisa, Florence, the Este family and many others. Two violent earthquakes struck Minucciano in 1837 and 1920, but thanks to detailed restoration work, the town boasts a maze of alleys covering the upper part of the village and a beautiful parish church dedicated to St. Michael the Archangel.