The ancient via di Ronda was a route in the northern part of the town walls. It was one of the main areas of the town’s development, demonstrated by the presence of the thirteenth century chapel of Sant’Antonio Abate, which sits perpendicular to the walls with its entrance on via di Ronda. From the fifteenth century on, this section of the town walls underwent a great deal of reconstruction in order to strengthen it against any possible attack. The Medieval chapel was completed by overlapping the fifteenth-century church of Sant’Agostino which leans against the walls with a system of buffers. When the walls were raised, the Medieval ramparts were incorporated and are still visible in some parts. The church of Sant’Agostino was enlarged in 1463 and this resulted in the construction of a unique semicircular tower with scarp walls and a double stone cordon. The tower was used as a grain storage barn when the convent was closed in 1820 and the whole building was turned into a farm. Today, visitors can climb the internal staircase to the top of the tower.