The castle was part of the battle ground during the well known battle of Campaldino between the Guelphs and the Ghibellines on the 11th June 1289. Despite various renovations, the castle as we see it today has changed little since it was first built. It is open all year and boasts a library with over 25 thousand items. The library, which was founded by Count Rille Orsini in 1828, has over 800 manuscripts alone. The bell tower, with its fantastic view over the Casentino countryside, is also open to the public. Visitors can see the castle’s ancient dungeons and the chapel with its XIV century fresco cycle by Taddeo Gaddi, which tells the story of the Virgin Mary and Saint John.
Cover image credit: Varda HB