Bandini Museum

The museum showcases the works of Florentine artists from the 1200s to the 1400s

Located next to the Duomo of Fiesole, the structure that houses the museum was built by architect Giuseppe Castellucci in the early 1900s and was built to exhibit the vast art collection of Fiesole native Angelo Maria Bandini. Bandini was a man of great culture; a scholar and librarian at the Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana. After its initial layout from the 1930s, the museum layout was modified several times throughout the years. The current layout was inaugurated on February 9, 2006.

The art collection was left as per Bandini’s legal will to the Chapter of the Duomo of Fiesole “for the benefit and good of the public” as it states in the will. Bandini gathered the works of the so-called ‘primitive’ artists, which was threatened by the ecclesiastical suppression during the Lorena government. The works from the late-middle ages and early Renaissance, which, at the time, were not appreciated for their true artistic value, sparked interest in Bandini mainly for their historic worth and their ability to illustrate the origins of the local culture. After Bandini’s passing, the collection remained in his home, which was located near the San Ansano church. The collection was later moved to the museum in 1913.

Disabled access:
Not accessible to the disabled.

The small town rises on a hill 6 km from Florence
Fiesole was one of the most important Etruscan towns on the southern slopes of the Tuscan-Emilian Apennines. It was allied to Rome in the III century BC. In 90 BC the town rebelled during the social war, being then taken by Lucio Porcio Catone. The acropolis was found on the top of the hill, where today the convent of St. Francis stands. ...