Erta della Chiesa, 4, 55016 Porcari LU, Italia
It is impossible to miss this church when visiting Porcari or the surrounding areas. From a raised position, it dominates the village with the luminous effect of the white marble that was used to build it. It is the main church of the town and dedicated to San Giusto. It stands next to a lovely bell tower and the square that is reached by taking a short uphill climb from where you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the Piana di Lucca and Porcari.
A first building was constructed in the 15th century where there was once another church dedicated to San Giovanni, and then significantly modified in 1745 when the current structure with three naves was completed. Further restructuring work was completed in the early 20th century, when a cycle of frescoes was painted by Michele Marcucci. The neo-medieval façade dates back to 1884.
The feast of the patron saint of Porcari dedicated to the memory of San Giusto is celebrated on the Monday following the Sunday of Pentecost. Tradition tells that he was the first evangeliser of Volterra and of the hills of central Tuscany. Two celebrations are held on this day, namely a liturgy in the morning, traditionally officiated by all the native priests of Porcari reunited for the occasion, and a solemn Mass in the afternoon with the civil and local clerical authorities, at the end of which there is a procession along the streets of the village attended by the faithful.