The church of San Pietro, documented for the first time in 761, is all that remains of the homonymous Benedictine monastery founded along the via Francigena. Although the abbey was damaged several times during earthquakes and restored in modern times, it is still possible to clearly make out the medieval structure of its church. Since the Middle Ages the importance of the church of San Pietro was due to its strategic position along the Lucca-Luni road. The earliest remains of the church that can be seen today date back to the XII century when the apse and the lower part of the façade were built.
The portal’s lunette is original, while the jambs have been replaced. Between 1856 and 1859, the architect Giuseppe Pardini directed important restoration works that included repairs to the wall along the sides of the building, the opening of the single lancet windows in the aisles and nave and the walling up of the church’s seventeenth century windows.
In 1902, after centuries of abandon, the bell tower and the tympanum of the church were entirely rebuilt and a double lancet window was inserted on the facade. At the end of the twentieth century, a new door was opened on the southern side of the building to give worshippers easier access. Inside the church, visitors can view a tabernacle and a XV century stoup.