The church also underwent renovation work in the 16th century and it was probably during this time that the precious 14th-century frescoes were removed. In the 18th century, the belfry was raised and the front façade worked on, however the interior of the church wasn’t renovated until the beginning of the 19th century. The front façade was altered again in 1938, resulting in the church seen today.
The church is home to a collection of religious works including Renaissance frescoes of the Annunciation by Paolo Schiavo and Raffaellini del Garbo, a stunning 15th-century Madonna Enthroned by Francesco Botticini and a 17th-century Adoration of the Magi by Piero Dandini. The most notable artwork, however, is an ancient 14th-century crucifix in multicoloured wood, brought to Campi Bisenzio by the flagellant brotherhood and is thought to have miraculous powers.