La Pieve della Cappella or, as it is also known La Pieve di San Martino, is found in the village of Azzano, part of the Seravezza municipality. The church rests in a breathtaking part of the landscape, with views of Monte Altissimo and the old marble quarries on one side, and the sea on the other.
The church is made entirely of marble and was built before the year 1000 before being reworked in the 12th century. The bell tower, predating the 11th century, stands separately in front of the facade.
In later years, the facade was embellished by a portico, completed in 1538, whose capitals have been attributed to Michelangelo, along with the rose window. For this, the window is known as the “eye of Michelangelo”. Regrettably, the colonnade was destroyed during the Second World War. Inside the church, designed as a rectangular plan with three naves, the 17th-century marble altars are particularly noteworthy.