This is the oldest part of Santa Fiora, where we can find traces of some of the buildings and fortifications that date back to when the town was ruled by the Aldobrandeschi family. Let’s start at the Parish Church of Sante Flora e Lucilla, dedicated to the town’s two patron saints. The Romanesque church was renovated in the 1400s and is now home to artworks by many famous artists, notably the Della Robbias, whose works here include a Baptism of Christ, Coronation of the Virgin and the panels on the pulpit.
Let’s continue to Palazzo Sforza, an imposing Renaissance building in piazza Garibaldi. The building is today home to the town hall, but it also houses the Monte Amiata Mercury Mining Museum, dedicated to the history and techniques of mercury extraction in the area in the 19th and 20th centuries. Visitors can learn about the tools used by miners, explore a small archeological section and reflect on the scarifies miners made for their work.
For a jump forward in time, the Suffragio Church was built between 1716 and 1726 in the Baroque style. Simple on the outside, visitors will be stunned to discover the clean elegance of the interior, home to artworks like a painting of Madonna and Christ in Ecstasy with Saints Gregory, Nicholas of Tolentino and Jerome.