fb track

Archaeological Documentation Centre in Sant’Agata

An exhibition in Scarperia of the archaeological discoveries found in the area

Map for 44.021194,11.334651
via della Pieve 3

The Archaeological Documentation Centre in Sant’Agata is found in Sparperia, inside an old wine cellar in a rustic space annexed in the rectory of the Parish Church of Sant’Agata. 

The museum tells the story of the Mugello from the prehistoric era to the medieval period, exhibiting flint tools, Bronze Age, Etruscan, Roman, medieval and Renaissance pottery, coins and other medieval ruins. In the first room, dedicated to the prehistoric period, there are discoveries from the Lower Palaeolithic age (300,000 years ago) to the Iron Age (1000 BCE), with teaching and iconographic equipment, including the reconstruction of tools which can be tried out. In the second room, there are Etruscan, Roman, medieval and Renaissance ruins.

In an adjacent plot of land, visitors can walk around a reconstruction of a prehistoric village with dimensions to scale, including fully-furnished huts.

Info: museisantagata.it

Scarperia e San Piero
Architecture and craftsmanship in one Italy's most beautiful villages
The municipality of Scarperia e San Piero is located in the Mugello, surrounded by beech and chestnut trees and spruces that mark the start of the Tuscan-Emilian Apennines. Thanks to its quaint atmosphere, it’s been declared one of the Most Beautiful Villages in Italy. ...