fb track

The Vaiano Abbey Museum

The museum opened in 1993

Map for 43.966952,11.124142
Via Agnolo Firenzuola

The Vaiano Abbey Museum first opened in 1993 as a continuation of an exhibition of medieval archaeology, organized in 1992 within the context of the "Laurentian Itineraries" initiative.

The museum later closed, reopening in 1999 after a thorough restoration which recovered a number of archeological finds displayed in the museum. The museum is organized to explain the life of the monks at the Abbey and to illustrate the religious, social and economic relationships of the Abbey with its territory.

Sections of the museum focus on the choir and the choral prayer of the monk; the refectory and the monastic eating habits; the chapter-house and the economic structure of the landed and manufacturing properties; the abbot's apartment; and the hospital and the care for wayfarers. 


Source: Prato APT


Discover tradition and centuries-old parish churches in Val di Bisenzio
Vaiano is the most important place in the Val di Bisenzio, and it is found in the heart of the natural area of Monteferrato. The town, of Roman origins, was the first town of some importance to develop in this area before the year 1000. The town was lucky to have a river, whose waters have been used since the Middle Ages in mills and fulling mills. ...