fb track
location_cityHistorical Buildings

Montecarlo Fortress

This defensive fort has been turned into an exhibition centre

Map for 43.85183,10.666753

The fortress was built on the highest point of Montecarlo hill, known as the "Cerruglio". Its strategic position between the valleys of Lucca and Valdinievole, made it desired by the most powerful cities of Tuscany: Florence, Pisa and Lucca. For this reason it has been the site of numerous battles and the structure of the fort has undergone many changes over time. Castruccio Castracani (which led the Lucchese army against the Florentine guelphs during the battle of Altopascio), Popes and Kings passed by. 

The Fortress is made up of a tower and two square towers connected to each other by high walls that form an imposing triangular structure.

Montecarlo Fortress
Montecarlo Fortress - Credit: C. D'Aliasi

The "fortezza" became private property in 1775, when Grand Duke Pietro Leopoldo of Tuscany, who did not consider it useful to military purposes anymore, disarmed it and sold it. Further conservation and restoration works of the whole structure are carried out by current owners in order to keep the original appearance as much as possible and to make it available for visitors as an exhibition centre where shows, conventions and other cultural events are held.

More attractions in  Montecarlokeyboard_backspace
Renowned for its wine, this hilltop town retains its splendid city walls and magnificent fortress
Montecarlo is a charming town immersed in the hills of the Lucchesia (Lucca region), characterized by its extensive rolling vineyards and significant wine production. Perched on a hilltop, the beautifully preserved historical center is still ringed by splendid city walls. ...