fb track

The Cathedral Museum and the Etruscan Cuniculi

Chiusi holds a collection of important archeological finds, jewelry, sacred objects, sculptures in wood and ivory, paintings and miniated codes

Map for 43.017037,11.948444
The museum is situated next to an early-Christian cathedral (6th century) named after Saint Secondiano the Martyr. The pinacoteca, or main gallery, which is located in a building that dates back to 1932, was instituted to conserve and showcase the artworks of the cathedral. It was renovated in 1984, and a new section, showcasing artworks from other churches of the dioceses, was inaugurated in 1992.

Museum visits also include visits to the Episcopal palazzo and its gardens as well as the opportunity to view the Porsenna Labyrinth, an underground archeological tour of the Etruscan Roman and medieval ruins beneath Chiusi. This underground route travels under the main piazza and reaches the Roman cistern and cathedral tower, from which is possible to partake in a stunning panoramic view of the Val di Chiana. One can also visit the catacombs of Saint Catherine and Saint Mustiola, which are located just outside of Chiusi.

The museum collection is comprised of artworks and other treasures from the 15th to the 19th centuries that belong to the cathedral, including those from the Saint Stefano Conservatory and the church of Saint Francis. The collection also includes miniated codes from the 15th century from the Abbey of Monte Oliveto and paintings and other objects from various parishes of the diocese.

On the border with Umbria, in a tranquil and relaxing countryside, sits the ancient city of Chiusi, which according to Roman sources was one of the first and most important Etruscan cities: the historian Servius stated that it was founded by either the hero Clusius, son of Tyrrhenus, the prince of Lydia – who according to Herodotus led the migration that established the Etruscan community – ...