The museum is located in the renovated right nave of the ruins of the abandoned plan for the “New Cathedral” which was begun in 1339 but abandoned in 1355. Visitors are able to climb to the top of the abandoned facade of the expanded cathedral which offers a stunning panorama of the city.The museum was founded to conserve and display works of art from the Cathedral which were removed from their original location for a variety of reasons. The collection includes paintings, sculptures, liturgical furnishings and vestments, gold and silver works, and illuminated manuscripts which illustrate the artistic history of Siena and document the major moments in the cathedral's history and the city's devotion to the Madonna as “queen” of the city.
Besides Duccio di Buoninsegna's masterpiece there are a number of other important works including the “Madonna di Crevole” by the same artist, the prophets and sybils statues created by Giovanni Pisano for the Cathedral facade, the “Nativity of the Virgin” by Pietro Lorenzetti, and the “Madonna del Perdono” by Donatello, and other works by Jacopo della Quercia, Francesco di Valdambrino, Sano di Pietro, Sassetta, Matteo di Giovanni, Sodoma and Domenico Beccafumi.
March 1-15: 9:30am-7:30pm
March 16-August 30: 9:30am-8pm
September 1-November 2: 9:30am-7:30pm
November 3-February 28: 10am-5pm
Reduced price ticket of €5.00 for groups of 15 people or more.
The museum is not accessible to wheelchair users.
Piazza del Duomo 8