Ruins of the bridge of Bacciano

The remains of a bridge which spanned the Serchio River in a strategic area of Garfagnana are still visible near the rocky outcrop of ‘Castellaccio’ (old and broken-down castle)

San Romano in Garfagnana

This was the Castle of the Lords of Bacciano. The earliest documents on the bridge, which definitely collapsed at the beginning of the 17th century, date back to 1345.
A small arch and a pier with cutwaters are all that remains of the bridge. It was built in carefully squared ashlars, whose excellent execution testifies to the crucial importance of the bridge when it was constructed.
The Lords of Bacciano, who ruled over the castle and the bridge, belonged to a small local feudal family tracing back to 1065.
Near the bridge there is an amazing upward view of the large railway bridge of Villetta.

San Romano in Garfagnana
Archaeological finds from pre-Roman period delight visitors
The community of San Romano boasts many archaeological finds from the Liguri and Roman periods, which testify to the presence of these ancient populations in this area. HISTORY During the Middle Ages, the area was divided into two feudal lordships. To the north were the more important Gherardinghi, who ruled from their residence in the Verrucole castle, set on the hill of the same name. ...