Until 1444 the Castle belonged to the Guidi Counts, it then passed into the hands of Florentine Republic. In the 1700s, the Prociano Castle was bought by the Goretti De Flamini family, and restored from 1963 to 1973.
Now open to the public, visitors can enter the Salone di Dante, the main hall of the castle, and view the collections that are housed on the ground floor. The collections are made up of varied works: there are sections on agricultural machinery and domestic utensils; on Native Americans; on the objects found in the castle during the restoration effort, and on the photos taken during the restoration. The upper floors are not open to the public because they are the residence of the owners.
May 1 to October 31: Sundays and holidays, from 10am to 12pm and 4pm to 7pm; the castle is opened for school and private groups by appointment only in other months of the year (for an appointment, contact Angela Giordano at 3290209258 or Marta Specht Corsi at 055400517; fax 055400506).
Price: Donations welcome.
Disabled access: Yes, however there are some steps present; the elevator door is 63cm wide