The monument consists of three buildings: the Church of Santa Giulia, the Oratory of San Ranieri and the Museum of Santa Giulia
The Museum of Santa Giulia contains some interesting works of sacred art, once collocated in the church, including an antique drawing of the Giotto school depicting Santa Giulia standing, surrounded by eight stories of her life, a reliquary in silver and gilded copper which Cosimo III had made in 1693 in which the saint is portrayed raised up on a fortress, symbol of the city of Livorno and an antependium in silver made by the goldsmith Antonio Leonardi in 1682, as well as other cultural objects such as liturgical vestments, prie-dieux, or kneeling-stools and furnishings. This complex consists of three monuments: the Church of Santa Giulia, the Oratory of San Ranieri and the Museum of Santa Giulia.
On the 22nd May 1602 the first stone of the church was laid, as is written on a stone in the entrance. The building was ordered by Ferdinando I for the oldest Confraternity in Livorno, that of the Saints Sacramento and Santa Giulia, who was probably born in the XIIIth century. Designed probably by Alessandro Pieroni, the façade appears bare, without the statues of saints that once adorned it (those of San Gennaro and Sant' Antonio were taken to the Seminary while those of San Pietro and San Paolo were destroyed during the bombings of the second world war). Also the archives of the Confraternity were lost, along with most of the furnishings and the wooden ceiling. The single-aisled church has a large altar realised in marble by Nicolò Carducci in the XVII century. In the entrance on the left there is a small chapel dedicated to the Madonna of Lourdes. In a corridor leading from here to the Oratory of San Ranieri there is a canvas by Giovan Battista Mercati depicting the crucifixion of the saint and a valuable work by Francesco Curradi (1570-1661).
The Oratory of San Ranieri was built on the orders of Cosimo III in 1696 in the old graveyard of the church. Opening into small, vaulted, rectangular room, the floor is inlaid with marble slabs alternating at intervals with flat gravestones bearing coats of arms and the wooden stalls set up against the walls are from the beginning of the XVIII century. On the walls, six episodes of the life of San Ranieri can be admired while above the cornice there are four allegorical figures: 'Hope', 'Temperance', 'Faith' and 'Charity' and in the vault the 'Apotheosis of San Ranieri'. The altar is characterised by marble spiral columns while the painting collocated above is a recent copy (1969) of the 'Miracle of San Ranieri' that is in the Duomo of Pisa. The floor houses nine entombments of the Cavaliers of Santo Stefano. On the exterior of the building on the right side, there is a marble image of the Madonna originally from one of the churches of the early village of Livorno. The frescoes of the vault and of the walls were severely damaged during the last war and the Oratory was opened to the public again only after extensive restoration.
Tastes of the seaside, hidden itineraries and plenty of surprises
One of the most iconic images of Livorno is the Terrazza Mascagni, a quasi-infinite structure with a stunning view over the sea. But Livorno is more than just a beach town—it’s a busy port city and has been since the second half of the 16th century, when the powers-that-were decided to transform this fishermen’s village, built around the Tower of Matilda of Tuscany, into one of Europe’s main ...