The road which runs from Legri to Le Croci is one of the most enchanting corners of the Tuscan countryside: rows of grape vines and splendid olive groves framed by thick forests and the Marina and Marinella Rivers, all of which come together to make this area unique. Legri, a top destination in the summer for lovers of nature and fishing—the middle of the valley is home to a few large sport fishing lakes and lots of spaces for outdoor activities—is also rich in historical and architectural sights, beginning with the castle which emerges right above the small village of Legri and the antique Parish Church of San Severo.
The Castrum Ligari is first mentioned in a document from 1191 in which the German Emperor Henry IV confirms that a few properties in the Val di Marina belong to the Guidi Counts. Until the 12th century Legri played an important role in trade in the Mugello since it was along the only road which linked the Florentine plain with Barberino. What we kknow today as the provincial “delle Croci” road was most probably constructed in this period in order to take this power away from the castle.
Like Calenzano, Legri became the property of important Florentine mercantile families beginning in the 14th century: Canigiani, Cerchi, and the Cattani families all bought farm land in this area, giving this area the agricultural profile which it maintains to this day. Like many other fortifications in this area, the Castello di Legri became, over time, a farm villa known above all for its excellent wines. Today the structure has been restored and can be visited with a reservation.