Badia Monastero
location_cityArchitecture

Exploring Badia Monastero

Spotlighting the history of an ancient abbey turned villa

Castelnuovo Berardenga
Historical references regarding the foundation of Badia Monastero can be traced back to a deed issued on February 15, 867. It was then that count Winigis and his wife Richilda founded the convent of San Salvatore and Alessandro di Fontebuona in Campi. It is likely that the monastery later began to decline before being re-established in 1003 and entrusted to a Benedictine community of monks. In 1028, it is mentioned for the first time as being property of the Camaldoli congregation.
In the XVI century, the Abbey began to experience an additional period of decline. It has not been a monastery since the early 1800s, when the ex-monastery and surrounding outside buildings were transformed into a villa and farm houses. At the northwestern corner of the complex, you’ll find a cylindrical tower rebuilt over its Neo-gothic predecessor. A wooden bridge leading into the garden is located on the eastern side of the villa. On its left-hand side, there is an imposing Romanic tower, built according to a square plan, inspired by the Lombard school. On the opposite side of the church, guests can see the Church of San Salvatore, which has been cited in historical documents since the monastery’s foundation.

 
Castelnuovo Berardenga
The vast territory is close to the evocative Crete Senesi
Castelnuovo Berardenga is at an altitude of 351m and has a population of approximately 7000 inhabitants. The town takes its name from Count Berardo, a descendant of the Count of Siena Guinigi who governed over the city during the second half of the IX century. His family moved to the country when they lost control of Siena. ...
Morekeyboard_backspace