According to information reported by Merletti, Cerreto’s Church of San Pietro e Paolo in Canonica was probably founded in 1093 by a member of the Antolini family. Thanks to a document issued by Urbano III in 1186, Cerreto’s rectory became property of the cathedral in Siena. In written documentation dating back to the late thirteenth and early fourteenth centuries, it was still registered as a rectory which served as the official residence of a religious community headed by a prior. From the late thirteenth century and the early fourteenth century onwards, said rectory fell under the jurisdiction of the Cerretani, the lords of the castle with the same name who governed the surrounding area. In 1598, it was declared a ‘forane vicariate’ by the archbishop of Siena. In 1794, the church was re-consecrated after undergoing substantial restoration and modernization. On the left hand side, visitors can appreciate its square Romanesque bell-tower. During a pastoral visit which occurred in 1575, the canonical house appeared to be in good condition. At the end of the eighteenth century, both the rectory and the church were renovated. Its oldest visible structures, which probably date back to the late Middle Ages, are situated on the church’s north-eastern side.
The vast territory is close to the evocative Crete Senesi
Castelnuovo Berardenga is at an altitude of 351m and has a population of approximately 7000 inhabitants. The town takes its name from Count Berardo, a descendant of the Count of Siena Guinigi who governed over the city during the second half of the IX century. His family moved to the country when they lost control of Siena. ...Morekeyboard_backspace
You might also be interested in